First Edition.jpg

Music Box

The core of the band originally formed in 1967 as Music Box, members being Cliff Fish, Dave Manders, Roy White and Phil Wright. Mike Harper was also a member at one point. In 1969 they change their name to PAPER LACE.

billy Album.jpg

March 1974

With the line-up of Mick Vaughan, Cliff Fish, Chris Morris and Phil Wright PAPER LACE have the No. 1 Hit "Billy Don't Be A Hero".


 April 1974

Carlo Santanna joins. During the remainder of 1974 the band has 2 more major hits: "The Night Chicago Died" and "The Black Eyed Boys".

Chris Morris leaves during this year.



By 1976 Mick Vaughan and Carlo Santanna had left and were replaced by Jamie Oliver (formally of THE NEW SEEKERS) and Jamie Moses who has latterly toured with Queen, Paul Young, Tom Jones, Mike and the Mechanics and many more.


By 1978 the line-up has reverted to Mick Vaughan, Chris Morris, Cliff Fish and Phil Wright. They release a record alongside Nottingham Forest Football Team called: "We Got The Whole World In Our Hands".

Chris Raynor joins PAPER LACE during this year. 


By 1979 Chris Raynor has left and Chris Morris returns.


PAPER LACE, comprising Mick Vaughan, Chris Morris, Cliff Fish and Phil Wright disbands.




In 1983 Chris Morris reforms PAPER LACE.

He asks Chris Raynor, John Raynor and John Chambers to join the band.

1983 onwards

Chris Morris leaves circa 1985.

Since 1983 Chris Raynor and John Raynor have been the continuous nucleus of PAPER LACE with Graham Wyvill taking over on bass in 2004.